Mazdoor Mela at Railways Loco Shed Colony Rawalpindi on Labour Day

Category: miscellaneous, News

Islamabad (May 1, 2011) : International Day of Workers, May 1st, will be celebrated in the twin cities by a host of trade unions, student groups and left-wing political parties so as to revive the labour movement and remind the ruling classes that they cannot continue to tow the agenda of the international financial institutions (IFIs) and completely ignore the needs and aspirations of the working masses.
On the eve of May Day a Mazdoor Mela is being organized in Railways Loco Shed Colony, Rawalpindi, in which well-known singers such as Arieb Azhar will perform.
The next day the May Day rally will start from Zero Point and culminate at the Aabpara Chowk and will feature hundreds of workers from Pakistan Post, PTCL, Pakistan Railways, Pak PWD, Radio Pakistan, the National Students Federation (NSF), Workers Party Pakistan (WPP) and the Labour Party Pakistan.
One of the major organizers of the rally and the Mazdoor Mela Aasim Sajjad of the Worker s Party Pakistan said that for many years May Day had lost its significance because pro-government pocket unionists now dominate the worker s movement.
He said that the historic policy of demobilizing workers had begun more than 30 years ago yet there has been no meaningful recovery, which is in large part explained by the fragmentation of progressive activism.
Aasim Sajjad noted that the recent creation of the Anti-Privatisation Alliance indicated that some measure of rehabilitation of the labour movement was taking place. He said that the attempt to bring a large number of unions and parties together to celebrate May Day would hopefully kick start a new and rejuvenated phase in the history of the worker s struggle.
Among others who will participate in the mela and rally alongside their constituents are Nisar Shah of the Labour Party Pakistan, Nazir Ahmed Javed of the PWD CBA Union, Azam Janjua of the Socialist Movement Pakistan, Sohaib Bodla of the National Students Federation (NSF), Azad Qadri of PTCL, Moazzam Ali Zahid of Pakistan Post, Raja Altaf of Pakistan Railways, Muhammad Ijaz of Pakistan Radio.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply