Five districts of Karachi restored, notification issued

Category: Local Government, miscellaneous, News

KARACHI (July 11, 2011) : Sindh Government on late Sunday night issued notification of restoration of all the five districts of Karachi division, Geo News reported.
According to the notification issued from Chief Minister House, stated that according to the Sindh Revenue Ordinance, Karachi division included district South, Malir, Central, East and West district.
Hyderabad has been given a status of division and has been divided into five districts. These districts included district Hyderabad, Badin, Thatta, Jamshoro and district Dadu.
Mirpurkhas division has been divided into four districts that included district Mirpurkhas, Tharparkar, Umerkot and district Sanghar.
Districts of Sukkur division included Sukkur, Ghotki, Khairpur, Naushero Feroz and district Benazirabad, while Larkana division included district Larkana, Qambar/Shahdadkot, Shikarpur, Jacobabad and district Kashmore.
Every division has been divided into its old district-format – as at the time of commissionerate system in place before Sindh Local Government Ordinance 2001.
Another notification of the Sindh Government stated that DCOs appointed at divisional headquarters of Karachi division, Larkana, Hyderabad, Mirpurkhas and Sukkur division would assume temporary charge of the Commissioner.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.