Punjab Doctors Strike: 60 Sacked, 84 Notices

Category: Health

Replacements pick up steam YDA head among 60 doctors fired

Young Girls Doctors shouts

LAHORE, Sunday, April 3, 2011: The Punjab government has fired 60 ‘disgruntled’ doctors, two lady health professionals and the president of the Young Doctors Association’s Punjab chapter among them, on the charges of their involvement in “antistate activities’, Dawn learnt on Sunday.
It has issued warning notices to another 84 doctors and asked them to report to the health department.
The sacked doctors were Postgraduate Trainees and House Officers and the notices were issued to the regular employees (medical officers and registrars) of the health department serving publicsector hospitals across the province.
Of the 60 sacked doctors, thirty-three were serving the major hospitals of the provincial capital — 10 Mayo Hospital, four Lahore General Hospital, seven Jinnah Hospital, three Children’s Hospital, five Services Hospital and four Sir Ganga Ram Hospital.
Heads of the health institutions have primarily levelled five charges against the ‘miscreant’ doctors; they are wilful absence from duties; obstruction in smooth delivery of healthcare to the patients; misbehaviour with their col leagues, senior doctors, patients, their attendants, and serious threats hurled at them; physical torture of the hospitals’ other staff while locking critical care departments; and denying treatment to the patients and provoking their on-duty colleagues for strike.
The department has banned their entry to any staterun health institution or facility and directed the officials concerned to make them vacate the hostels and official residences.
The Punjab government will recommend the cases of these doctors with ‘chargesheet’ to the Research Ethical Committee of Pakistan Medical and Dental Council (PMDC) and College of Physicians and Surgeons Pakistan (CPSP) for strict disciplinary action against them. These two regulatory bodies for medical education will also be requested for de-registration of the doctors for practice in any health facility across the country.
Similarly, the health department will request in writing the embassies of the relevant countries for the cancellation of visas of the (agitating) doctors who had applied for the facility to go abroad.
The heads of the institutions have been directed to hold meetings with senior police officers to launch criminal proceedings against the guilty doctors.
Meanwhile, a senior official said some major health institutions and hospitals of the province recruited 150 doctors on Sunday besides hiring services of scores of district hospital doctors for the teaching health institutions.
More than 600 applications of ‘jobless’ doctors have been received by the health institutions of the province.
He said a large number of doctors from abroad -England, UAE, Saudi Arabia and Japan — have contacted the health department and offered their services in public hospitals.
Some of them had gone abroad on ex-Pakistan leave and completed their two-year tenure while many others were not accommodated by the ministries concerned for job.
Sacked Doctors:
Those who have been sacked are named with hospitals:
MAYO HOSPITAL: Dr Asad Jameel Awan, Dr Hafiz Muhammad Shahid Shafique, Dr Waqas Ali, Dr Hassan Tariq, Dr Tariq Mahmood, Dr Asad Aizaz Chatha, Dr Umer Liaqat Ghani, Dr Aziz bin Akhtar, Dr Usmanul Haq, Dr Muhammad Azeem, Dr Asad Ali Chaudhry, Dr Muhammad Mudassar Aslam, Dr Muhammad Latif, Dr Abdur Rehman, Dr Kamran Shehzad and Dr Dilshad Ahmed.
SERVICES HOSPITAL: Dr Hamid Mukhtar Butt and Dr Imran Habib.
JINNAH HOSPITAL: Dr Usman Rasool, Dr Rehana Kanwal, Dr Naeem Jan, Dr Fahad Naeem, Dr M Usman Khalid and Dr Usman Imtiaz.
GENERAL HOSPITAL: Dr Rai Ahmed Khan Kharral, Dr Nasir Ahmed, Dr Walid Ahmed Khan, Dr Javed Ishaq and Dr Hamid Yaseen Bajwa.
SIR GANGA RAM HOSPITAL: Dr Waseem Ahmed, Dr Abdul Majeed, Dr Zubair Ahmed Khan, Dr Zahid Tayyab and Dr Muhammad Nauman Akram.
The other sacked doctors in Punjab are: Dr Muhammad Ali Usman, Dr Khurram Habib, Dr Kamaluddin, Dr Syed Gulzarul Hassan Gilani, Dr Shoaib Saleem, Dr Muhammad Umar Farooq, Dr Khwaja Hareem Farooq, Dr Faisal Iftikhar, Dr Aqeel Nat, Dr Shoaib Gul, Dr Rashid Tufail, Dr Gulshan Ahmed, Dr Faizan Ali Rao, Dr Sohail Raza Chaudhry, Dr Waleed Ahmed, Dr Nasir Habib, Dr Muhammad Asif Raza, Dr Nasir Hussain, Dr Kamran Ahmed, Dr Zahid Hafeez, Dr Shoaib Mushtaq, Dr Tahira Jameel, Dr Zahid Bashir, Dr Faisal Jameel, Dr Syed Khazima Arsalan and Dr Amir Bandesha.
Notices Served to Doctors
Meanwhile, the notices have been issued under PIDA laws to Dr Abdur Rehman, Dr Muhammad Kashif, Dr Matloob Ahmed, Dr Usman Zafar Dar, Dr Atif Majeed, Dr Sajid Hussain, Dr Abdul Basit Qureshi, Dr Tahir Mahmood Bajwa, Dr Javedur Rehman, Dr Sajid Mukhtar, Dr Fawad Ahmed Randhawa, Dr Usman Ayub, Dr Imran Khan, Dr Faheem Asghar, Dr Zulqarnain Butt, Dr Anwarul Haq, Dr Javed Naseer, Dr Liaqat Bhatti.
Dr M Basharat, Dr Abu Bakr Gondal, Dr Muhammad Javed Iqbal, Dr Muhammad Ajmal, Dr Hamaad Nasir, Dr Imran Bajwa, Dr Hashim, Dr Adnan Arshad, Dr Muhammad Imran Khan, Dr Muhammad Naeem, Dr Shabbir Ahmed Warraich, Dr Asif Shah, Dr Amjad Ali, Dr Abdul Ghaffar, Dr Faraz Sharif, Dr Rashid Mahmood.
Dr Muhammad Irfan, Dr Muhammad Arif, Dr Tamseel, Dr Khurram Sohail Raja, Dr Muhammad Waseem Rabbani, Dr Mazhar Ali, Dr Muhammad Ali Waqas, Dr Muhammad Jahangir Riaz, Dr Shakeel Ahmed, Dr Kashif Siddique, Dr Khurram Murad Malik, Dr Umar Saeed, Dr Ghulam Abbas, Dr Ayaz Haider Mughal, Dr Rana Mohsin Khan, Dr Ambreen Ashraf.
Dr Ali Murtaza Sammar, Dr Shafique Umar, Dr Adnan Khalid, Dr Salma Munawar, Dr Adnan Zahid, Dr Umair Hayat Khan, Dr Farah Kazmi, Prof Dr Faisal G. Bhopal, Dr Gohar Rasheed, Dr Faryal Azhar, Dr Muhammad Iqbal, Dr Sobia Nawaz, Dr Maliha Sadaf, Dr Farhan Maqbool, Dr Arshad Iqbal Sati.
Dr Abdul Ahad, Dr Nasir Wakeel, Dr Tanveer Ahmed Bajwa, Dr Asad Faraz, Dr Armughan, Dr Amir Majeed, Dr Irfan Ashraf, Dr Zulqarnain, Dr Ahmed Raza, Dr Zahid Shehzad, Dr Imran Asif Bajwa, Dr Shahid Mahmood, Dr Munir Ahmed Siddique, Dr Ehsan Firdous, Dr Ejaz Chandio, Dr Syed Nasir Abbas Bukhari, Dr Muhammad Arshad, Dr Faiza Noor and Dr Naila Yasmeen.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.